Home Rwanda


Known as ’The Land of a Thousand Hills’, the landlocked Rwanda not only has thousands of lush hills but also five large volcanoes, 23 lakes and numerous rivers, of which some form the source of the River Nile.

Located literally in the heart of Africa, Rwanda is bordered by Uganda to the north, Tanzania to the east, Burundi to the south and the Democratic Republic of Congo to the west. Its population is almost 11 million with more than 1 million living in the capital Kigali, often cited as the cleanest and neatest capital city in all of Africa.

Rwanda has 3 official languages: Kinyarwanda, English and French. The currency is the Rwandan franc (RWF).

Visitors to Rwanda are often surprised by the variety of the landscapes from volcanoes to large lake landscapes.

Wild animals are protected by law to roam free in vast national parks, of which the Volcanoes National Park in the Virunga volcanic mountains are most probably the best known. It is teeming with wildlife.

Lake Kivu to the west offers beautiful beaches, peninsulas and an archipelago of islands.